Uncategorized

Death Visited My Household.

Knocks on the door
The familiar stranger had arrived
There he stood at my door
With happiness all over him
As I looked through my window my heart drowned inside me
I did not wish to open my door
But this face never waited for a welcome address
I reinforced my locks
And blocked my windows
“Go away! Go away!”
Desperation poured out of me
This stranger was persistent
“I have come to take a piece from your home”
His voice made my heart shrink in fear
My strength failed me
And my legs gave way
To the ground, I fell
My hands over me and my face down
My tears flowed like a river
With a rushing sound my door was flung open
In he strolled, with his head high
And sparks in his eyes
He stretched out his hand
Grabbed and pulled
I held on to my loved
Pulled with every muscle
Besieged him
But he gave no ear
He walked away with my own
No pity, no sympathy
Death had showed his ugly face
And my loved one was gone forever.
                   – by Ruth C. Odikaesieme

3 thoughts on “Death Visited My Household.

  1. ” He walked away with my own
    No pity, no sympathy
    Death had showed his ugly face”

    Got me thinking why you didn’t use “She”…

    Anyway i love your write ups. Still puzzled if the death stuff is mere imagination. And if it’s for real, my condolence dear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

